Non-Divine Epiphany (Part One)

In my introductory post I referred an event about four months ago, one that had a profound effect on me, and one that inspired this blog that you are reading.

I was listening to a program on NPR (exactly which one I am unsure of), in which Dan Kahan, who holds the impressive sounding title of Elizabeth K. Dollard professor of law AND professor of psychology at Yale Law School, was being interviewed on the topic of the public perception of Global Climate Change. Mr. Kahan made the claim that skeptics of Global Climate Change were not only as scientifically literate as believers in Global Climate Change, but in fact were generally MORE literate!

Ok, that took me completely by surprise. As a long time proponent of the theory of Global Climate Change, I was part of a large group that believed that all we had to do to sway people away from their skepticism was to educate them more. And now Dan Kahan was telling me that I couldn’t be more wrong!

Let’s just say that I spent a lot of time thinking about this. (to be continued)

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “Non-Divine Epiphany (Part One)”

  1. Barry Seidel says :

    Readers might be interested in “Intentionally engineering Earth’s atmosphere to offset rising temperatures could be far more doable than you imagine, says David Keith. But is it a good idea?
    A Cheap and Easy Plan to Stop Global Warming”, By David Rotman MIT Technology Review March/April 2013

    • verschell says :

      This is exactly the kind of dialogue I hope to engender, Barry. One of the big arguments against trying to counteract Global Climate Change is cost (among many arguments). I haven’t read this article yet, so my comments aren’t too specific to it (added it to my reading list), but the title says “Cheap and Easy”, and the tag asks, “But is it a good idea>” Two of a number of important points, cost and consequences. Something I hope to address in a future post on Pascal’s Wager.

Leave a Reply

